Read, Read, Read!

I’ve started the third year of my PhD program, which means that I’m in my reading year.  I’ll spend the next 9 months reading a couple hundred books in preparation for my PhD qualifying exams (the three members of my committee get to test me on what I learned from said couple hundred books).  I have three fields of examination:  1) my major field, Modern European History; 2) my minor field, the History of Sexuality and Gender; and 3) my research field/field of expertise,  Modern German History.  

I have a list of books to read for each field, and each list is broken down into thematic or chronological sections.  Here’s what I’m reading for the first section of each list (in case anyone is bored and interested):

Modern European History

  1. The Birth of the Modern World, 1780-1914 by C.A. Bayly
  2. Globalization:  A Short History by Jürgen Osterhammel & Niels P. Petersson

the History of Sexuality & Gender in the Modern World

  1. The History of Sexuality, Volume 1: an Introduction, by Michel Foucault
  2. The Invention of Heterosexuality, by Jonathan Ned Katz
  3. The Epistemology of the Closet, by Eve Sedgwick
  4. How to Do the History of Homosexuality, by David Halperin
  5. Race and the Education of Desire: Foucault’s History of Sexuality and the Colonial Order of Things, by Ann Laura Stoler
  6. Imperial Leather:  Race, Gender, and Sexuality in the Colonial Contest, by Anne McClintock
  7. Gender and the Politics of History, Joan Scott
  8. “Forgetting Foucault,” by David Halperin, in Representations
  9. “Remembering Foucault” by Jeffrey Weeks in the Journal of the History of Sexuality
  10. “Thinking Sex:  Notes for a Radical Theory of the Politics of Sexuality” by Gayle Rubin, in Pleasure and Danger: Exploring Female Sexuality (by Carole Vance)

Modern German History

  1. German History, 1770-1866 by James Sheeman
  2. Deutscher Gesellschaftsgeschichte (volumes 1-5), by Hans-Ulrich Wehler
  3. German History in Modern Times:  Four Lives of a Nation, by William Hagen
  4. The German Catastrophe, by Friedrich Meinecke
  5. Peculiarities of German History, by David Blackbourn and Geoff Eley

On the iPod

  1. The Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett.  My commute to campus takes about an hour, so I get in almost a couple hours of pleasure reading/hearing a few times each week. I’ve listened to 36 and a half hours so far, and only have 3.5 more to go!

On the Kindle

  1. the Stand, by Stephen King.  Every now and then I get to do some pleasure reading before falling to sleep.  I’m about half-way through and love it.

As ya’ll can see:  2012 is often the last world and time that my mind is in! Okay, lunch break is over, so I better quit talking about reading and actually go read! 

Categories: History | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Let me know what you think!

Blog at WordPress.com.

