The Most Romantic Songs Ever

Following are some songs that, when I hear the lyrics, I know have to be among the most romantic songs ever written…or at least among the most heart wrenching or moving songs ever.  Not all of the songs on my list are romantic in the “I love you so much” sense,  but they all have something to do with love, whether it’s a lost love, or simply expressing a bond.

The list is in no particular order (except #1 and 2, because I think they are the most romantic songs ever), and before each video, I’ve included some of the lyrics that I think make that song particularly special.   After you browse through them, feel free to leave a comment with any song that you find incredibly romantic!

1)

“Bridge Over Troubled Water” by Simon & Garfunkel

I think this song could be for a lover, or even the closest and truest of friends.  Either way, it’s passionate. 

“When you’re weary
Feeling small
When tears are in your eyes
I will dry them all

I’m on your side
When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down…

…I’ll take your part
When darkness comes
And pain is all around…

I will ease your mind
Like a bridge over troubled water

2)

“From Here to the Moon & Back” by Dolly Parton (& Kris Kirstofferson)

The mixture of Dolly & Kris’ voice in this one is fantastic.  In the movie, they’re dancing and looking into each other’s eyes in such a way that you know that their love for each other definitely goes beyond the moon…and back. 

How much and how far would I go to prove
The depth and the breadth of my love for you?

From here to the moon and back
Who else in this world will love you like that?
Love everlasting, I promise you that
From here to the moon and back…

I would blow you a kiss from the star where I sat
I would call out your name to echo through the vast
Thank heaven for you and to God, tip my hat
From here to the moon and back
And I’ll spend forever just proving that fact
From here to the moon and back

3)

“A Little’s Enough” by Angels & Airwaves

Maybe this isn’t your typical love song, but the words are very sweet.  

I can do anything, If you want me here
And I can fix anything, If you’ll let me near
What are those secrets now
That you’re too scared to tell
I’ll whisper them all aloud
So you can hear yourself

 

4)

“Unchained Melody” by the Righteous Brothers

I don’t really find the lyrics to this one to be the most original or the particularly sweetest in the world, but the honest way he sings is why this one’s on the list! 

Oh my love, my darling
I’ve hungered,
Hungered for your touch
A long lonely time,
And time goes by so slowly
And time can do so much,
Are you still mine?
I need your love, I…
I need your love
God speed your love to me

5)

“Shelter” by Ray Lamontagne 

This guy’s voice will rip your heart out.  You can’t sing like this unless you have really felt those emotions.  His whole album “Trouble” is amazing and heart-wrenching.  This particular video features a live version of both “Shelter” and “Trouble.”  Both are worth watching! 

I guess you don’t need it
I guess you don’t want me to repeat it
But everything I have to give, I’ll give to you
It’s not like we planned it
You tried to stay, but you could not stand it
To see me shut down slow
as though it was an easy thing to do
Listen when
All of this around us’ll fall over
I tell you what we’re gonna do
You will shelter me, my love
And I will shelter you

6)

“Secret Crowds” by Angels & Airwaves 

Yes, another from Angels & Airwaves.  Again, it may not sound like a love song, but listen to some of the lyrics.  Angels & Airwaves are all about Love.

If I had my own world
I’d build you an empire
From here to the far lands
To spread love like violence…

Let me feel you, carry you higher
Watch our words spread hope like fire

7)

“I Will Always Love You” by Dolly Parton

I know that Whitney Houston’s version of Dolly’s song is great, too.  But, Dolly’s voice is so pure and true, and I’ll take that over Houston’s power any day.  I love you too, Dolly! 

And I hope life will treat you kind
And I hope that you have all
That you ever dreamed of
Oh, I do wish you joy
And I wish you happiness
But above all this
I wish you love
I love you, I will always love you.

8)

“It’s Your Love” by Tim McGraw & Faith Hill

This one’s made even better knowing that it’s sung by man and wife. 

Better than I was
More than I am
All of that happened
By taking your hand
Who I am now
Is who I’ve wanted to be
Now that we’re together
Stronger than ever, happy and free
Oh, it’s a beautiful thing
Don’t think I can keep it all in
And if you ask me why I’ll change
All I gotta do is say your sweet name

It’s your love.

9)

“Something About the Way You Look Tonight” by Sir Elton John 

It was hard for me to pick which Elton John love song was my favorite.  It was either this one, or “Your Song.”  Ultimately, I think I chose “Something About the Way You Look Tonight” because the music is just awesome, too. 

I need to tell you
How you light up every second of the day
But in the moonlight
You just shine like a beacon on the bay

And I can’t explain
But it’s something about the way you look tonight
Takes my breath away
It’s that feeling I get about you, deep inside
And I can’t describe
But it’s something about the way you look tonight

Takes my breath away
The way you look tonight

With your smile
You pull the deepest secrets from my heart
In all honesty
I’m speechless and I don’t know where to start

10)

“Stand by Me” by Tracy Chapman

I know that a lot of people have sung this song, but Tracy Chapman’s version is the best.  Hands down. 

If the sky that we look upon
Should tumble and fall
And the mountains should crumble to the sea
I won’t cry, I won’t cry, no I won’t shed a tear
Just as long as you stand, stand by me

11)

“He Stopped Loving Her Today” – by George Jones

A sad song about a love that lasted until the end.  This one breaks my heart. 

Kept some letters by his bed dated nineteen sixty-two
He had underlined in red every single “I love you”

I went to see him just today
Oh but I didn’t see no tears
All dressed up to go away
First time I’d seen him smile in years

He stopped loving her today
They placed a wreath upon his door
And soon they’ll carry him away
He stopped loving her today

12)

“Honey Bee” by Blake Shelton

This one’s a nice change of  mood from number 11 – more upbeat and positive.  I’m not normally a fan of new country music, but I like Blake Shelton, and I definitely love this love song!

You’ll be my soft and sweet
I’ll be your strong and steady
You’ll be my glass of wine
I’ll be your shot of whiskey
You’ll be my sunny day
I’ll be your shade tree
You’ll be my honeysuckle
I’ll be your honey bee…

I coulda said “I love you”
Coulda wrote you a line or two
Baby, all I know to do is speak right from the heart…

If you’ll be my Louisiana
I’ll be your Mississippi
You’ll be my Little Loretta
I’ll be your Conway Twitty
You’ll be my sugar, baby
I’ll be your sweet iced tea
You’ll be my honeysuckle
I’ll be your honey bee

13)

“True Love” by Angels & Airwaves

And a last one from my favorite band.  

You won’t be alone, I am beside you…

The stars in the sky illuminate below,
The light is the sign that love will guide you home.

True Love.

Okay, so tell me what your favorite romantic/love songs are! 

Categories: Entertainment | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Most Romantic Songs Ever

  1. Aunt Dale

    I love all the songs some bring back great memories and others make me remember the heart ache but all the remind me of life and love

Let me know what you think!

Blog at WordPress.com.

