“Homosexuality is an Abomination!” – God

I was riding down a south Georgia portion of Interstate 75 when I looked up and saw a huge, new billboard for a local church that read “HOMOSEXUALITY IS AN ABOMINATION.”  It was signed, “God.”  At first I didn’t let the sign bother me.  I had a good weekend planned, so I just thought, “Those ignorant mother f•ckers,” and kept on driving.  A couple of days later, when I was heading northbound, I saw that the church had the same sign posted so that everyone traveling on I-75 could see it, no matter if you were going north or south.

That time the gigantic billboard pissed me off.  I hadn’t noticed the sign until I was right up on it, so I didn’t have any time to jot down the phone number or even catch the full name of the church.  I’m sure it was something like “Christ’s Love Baptist Church.”  Normally, I don’t let anything like that bother me, but here I was, just driving down the road and minding my own business, listening to music, not hurting anyone, when some church tells me and every single car whizzing by that GOD himself thinks I’m an abomination.  I wanted nothing more than to blow that f•cking sign up.  But, of course, I kept my cool and drove on home, but I’ve been thinking about that sign for days now.

The billboard was referring, of course, to the random Bible verse in Leviticus (20:13) that states, “If a man lies with a male as he lies with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination.”  Yeah, I guess that’s pretty straightforward.  In fact, I can’t think of any other way to interpret that verse except that homosexuality is not only wrong, but an abomination.   And then of course, there is the section in 1 Corinthians (6:9-11) that lists who all won’t get into heaven (or, “inherit the kingdom” as the Bible puts it); yep, you’ve got it homosexuals are on the list, along with fornicators, thieves, wizards, and all of the other familiar evildoers.

Okay, so we’ve established that there are at least two verses out of 31,173 in the Bible that are against homosexuality.  But, it’s mainly Leviticus 20:13 that opponents of homosexuality cling to.  But here’s my question for that church who paid a lot of money to put up that billboard, and all of the other churches like it:  Why do you pick and choose which Bible verses you stringently adhere to?  The Old Testament is full of random and ridiculous rules and commandments that you have no problem overlooking.  Like, what about Deuteronomy 22:5 “A woman shall not wear a man’s garment, nor shall a man put on a woman’s cloak, for whoever does these things is an abomination to the Lord.”  So, say, women wearing pant-suits are an abomination, too?  While we’re on the topic of God deciding what we can and can’t wear, what about 1 Timothy 2:9:  “Women should adorn themselves in respectable apparel, with modesty and self-control, not with braided hair and gold or pearls or costly attire.”  So, where’s your sign that says “WOMEN WHO BRAID THEIR HAIR AND WEAR GOLD ARE WHORES” – GOD” ?

And let’s not forget the Bible’s punishment for adulterers: DEATH for the man and the “other woman.”  Deuteronomy 22:22:  “If a man is found sleeping with another man’s wife, both the man who slept with her and the woman must die.”  MUST die.  Phew.  Maybe if we stuck to this rule the Earth’s over-population problem would be more in check.

So, why ignore those verses?  They’re just as straightforward as the one against homosexuality.  Actually, if you want to be such a good little Bible follower, then why not follow Leviticus 20:13 to the letter?  Because, let’s read the entire verse:  “If a man lies with a male as with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination; they shall surely be put to death; their blood is upon them.”  So, why quit with calling me an abomination?  Don’t be half-hearted about it; carry out God’s commandment and kill me.  I hear stoning was an Old-Testament favorite.  Or, perhaps, if you pray hard enough, God will destroy us with a column of fire.

If I had to guess, “Christians” and people like that who just pick and choose which parts of the Bible they want to believe, are simply using the Bible – and Leviticus 20:13 in particular – as a shield to justify their own personal feelings and repulsion to homosexuality.  And don’t give me that whole “love the sinner, hate the sin” shit; that’s just a way for you to discriminate and still sleep at night.

And I guess, what I really want to ask is why did you choose to ignore Matthew 7:1 “DO NOT JUDGE, OR YOU TOO WILL BE JUDGED.”  Please, tell me, where in the Bible it says, “I, God, grant you permission; be my judges on earth, tell everyone that is not like yourself that I hate them and they’re going to hell; be arrogant enough to sign billboards with my name.”  I looked and I couldn’t find that particular verse.  Don’t you think if God really thinks I’m an abomination he’ll take care of me when I stand before him?  He doesn’t need you to do his work for him.

And what about the verse when the disciples asked Jesus which of the commandments was the most important, and the Prince of Peace answered (Mark 12:30-31), “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with your mind and with all your strength.  The second is this:  ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  There is no commandment greater than these.”  Let me repeat, because obviously you missed that one, even though it’s written in red in the New Testament:  LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF.  THERE IS NO COMMANDMENT GREATER THAN THESE.  Seems kind of like Jesus pulled the trump card there:  when in doubt, love your neighbor.  And I have to say, when I saw that billboard, or see signs on TV that say “God hates fags!” I don’t really feel the love.

If we’re all God’s children (Jeremiah 1:5 – “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.”), then just let him deal with us, the people that you think are an abomination.  I’d much rather face him than you, because I pick and choose to believe 1 John 4:8:  “Whoever does not love does not know God, because GOD IS LOVE.”

Okay, I’m done with that.  I know I shouldn’t let such billboards make me bitter against all Christians.  Because I have met tons of Christians who actually follow Christ’s message.  I just find it repulsive when so-called “Christians” spend all of their time judging and preaching hell fire (not only against gay folks, but against anyone who doesn’t fit into their idea of a ‘holy’ person).  Actually, I pity those angry Christians.  I think it’s sad that they read the Bible and all they find is damnation.  They really missed the good stuff.

So, I may be done with the pick-and-choose Christians, but I do have a few other things to say.  So, sit tight.

First, let me say, that I’m not writing any of this to justify myself to anyone.  Nor am I writing to fight for understanding on behalf of every gay man and woman; I’m only one person and I can’t speak for everyone.

I’m not sure how many people out there still believe that being gay is a choice.  Maybe I’d be surprised by how many do.  Since I grew up in the Southern Baptist “Belt Buckle” of the Bible Belt, I grew up believing that being gay was a sin.  And if it was a sin, then it was a choice.  That definitely caused some conflict within me; I didn’t understand why, even though I was as good a Christian as anyone else, these thoughts and desires were still in me.  So, I’d pray harder for them to go away while wondering if the other guys in my class were struggling with the same thing.

It was not until I got to college that I even heard the idea that people could be born gay, and it made such perfect sense to me.  That was the only way to explain my “defect” and why it wouldn’t go away; it had to be inborn.

My reaction then, naturally, was to research what caused homosexuality.  I wanted to know exactly why I was they way I was.  What I found only frustrated me:  you could find articles that stated, yes, homosexuality is inborn, and the next article would say that there was no scientific evidence for that, so it must be a choice.  It pretty much depended who was funding the research, and it gave weight to the axiom that you find what you’re looking for.

Of course I dismissed the ones that said I had chosen this “lifestyle” and read the ones that suggested I was born this way.  Some hinted that it may be genetic (though I now understand that a “gay gene” will never be discovered, because that’s not the way genes work.  A single gene doesn’t control something as complex as sexual orientation or intelligence or personal dispositions).  Some research suggested it was environmental, perhaps a different blend of hormones in the womb.  Others still said that it was psychological – maybe the child didn’t have enough interaction with the parent (or relatives) of the same sex during the important stages of development.  Those same scientists said that even though homosexuality might have been onset after birth, it happened so early in development that it was still not a choice on behalf of the person.  Despite all of the studies on brain structure, and hormone levels, and birth order, it seems that the state of the science right now is that science can’t say decisively what causes homosexuality.  Here’s a good document for an overview of all the experiments and studies and the role that “choice” plays (namely that some people choose to live their life openly, while others choose to live a “straight” life).

I am a firm believer in the science of evolution, so my search for answers was not only for personal satisfaction, but also for understanding of why there would be homosexuals in nature.  Especially after being called “unnatural” once, I wanted to find out where in the natural world I fit.  An obvious answer would be that we’re an evolutionary mistake.  It happens; sometimes mutations lead to dead ends (like, uh, not being able to reproduce…yeah, that’s not so great for the survival of the species).  However, after giving it some thought, I only half-jokingly now state that in a world of rampant overpopulation, I and those like me are evolution’s population control, a “natural” way of slowing down our population growth so that the world doesn’t give out of resources quite as quickly.  A friend once told me that homosexuality is God’s way of assuring that the most brilliant minds are not bothered with children.  Hey, you’ve got to have a good sense of humor when dealing with this type of stuff…

Anyway, I eventually quit reading, because I only became more frustrated after each article.  I realized that I didn’t care whether it was a faulty gene, or a hormonal imbalance…I didn’t choose to be this way.  I just had to accept it and carry on with my life.  And eventually I did.  To hell with anyone (including myself) who demanded an explanation.

And to anyone who believes that there can be “gay therapy” or that you can “pray the gay away,” I have a little experiment for you:  for my straight readers – try to make yourself truly love and have sex with a member of the same sex.  It just doesn’t work, does it?  When you were born, you didn’t decide, or make the choice to be straight, right?  And being attracted to another guy or another woman just doesn’t make sense to you.  It’s the same thing – I tried for years and years to be “into” girls.  It just didn’t work.  And to expect that gay folks can be “cured” by therapy is absurd.  Sure, there are “success” stories – of gay people who want to be accepted SO bad, and have been told for so long that they are a sinner and disgusting, that they “convert” to being straight.  And they may even believe they are straight.  But in my opinion, they’re just acting straight to gain acceptance.  And to me “gay therapy” is destructive to people’s identity and self esteem.  But I’m not the only one that thinks that way.  Here is the link to the official paper put out by the American Psychological Association on the dangers of gay therapy.

I think that most people who are against homosexuality, or at least have an aversion to it, don’t understand it; they don’t know (or at least don’t know that they know!) a gay person.  It seems like most people’s mind goes straight to the bedroom when they think of “gay.”  That’s normal, I guess.  I mean, sex is one way we categorize ourselves; it’s in the terminology:  homosexual, heterosexual.  We put ourselves into boxes depending on our reproductive capability and sexual attraction.  But, what a lot of people don’t take the time to think about is that just like straight couples, what goes on in the bedroom is only one aspect of life.  Gay men and women actually (believe it or not) love each other just as wholly as straight couples do.  Remember that uncontrollable, dizzying feeling of butterflies in your stomach when you have a crush on someone?  And that moment when you may realize that, despite yourself, you’re in love with that person?  I’ve felt that.  For another guy.  Maybe I’m just some idealistic, hippy humanist, but I’m not sure how love, in any of its forms, can be wrong.  And I’m not sure how someone can tell me that the love that I feel is wrong, or less than the love that they feel.  Oh well; there are a lot of things in life that I don’t understand…

So, wrapping this wandering pondering up, besides the legal injustice (people have no problems accepting our work and our tax money, but only just recently let us serve openly in the military, and only allow us to receive the legal and financial advantages of marriage in 6 states of this Land of the Free), I find it really sad that people like me have to worry about coming out – about explaining and justifying who they are to their friends and families.  That’s something that straight people don’t have to do.

Now, let me add again that I’m not writing for every gay American.  I don’t know how they all feel.  I know that some people have had a way worse experience than I’ve had; we’ve all been made aware recently of the kids committing suicide because they were bullied.  My heart goes out to them.  But, fortunately, while deciding to come out created a lot of distress for me, I try not to focus on the negative (though it’s hard when I’m driving along the interstate and see such billboards!) and instead focus on the positive.  Yeah, America still has strides to take in order to treat all of its citizens equally, but in some countries people are still murdered and chopped up with machetes for being gay.  So, in that respect, I’m thankful that I happened to be born in the US.

And lastly:  I don’t expect everyone to accept homosexuality.  That simply won’t happen.  But please don’t, for example, use the argument that gay marriage will ruin the institution of marriage; 51% of marriages (between a man and woman, mind you!) in America end in divorce.  And don’t quote the Bible against me, because there are just as many verses that can be fired against you.  And if you really have to have someone to “blame,” then either blame God for creating us, or blame straight parents…they’re the ones having all the gay babies!  (Okay, maybe an inappropriate time to joke…)  And even if you believe that I chose to live this way, what does it matter?  How does it hurt you?  Don’t worry, I’m not out to convert you or your children to the dark side!  And sure, I want to take over the world, but that has nothing to do with me being gay.  So, even if you think homosexuality is a “lifestyle” that is chosen, I just don’t see how it affects you.   Who cares what I do in my life as long as it doesn’t negatively affect you?

So, I will end with this request:  I do not ask that you understand me or welcome me with open arms.  You have the right not to.  I will not hate you if you don’t.  But, I ask for the same in return.  If you don’t love me or accept me, at least leave me alone.  

Categories: Politics/Current Events, Religion | Tags: , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on ““Homosexuality is an Abomination!” – God

  1. Dale

    I am so very proud of you there is nothing in this world that would make me stop loving you or supporting you in anything you do in your life, you are and always will be the most loving and adjustind man I have ever known. I love you Jake and will always be there for you. I am sorry for the hurtful things you will read and hear through out your life as a gay man but know that your family and the people that know you will always love you and be proud of you. Aunt Dale

    • Cheryl

      You will always be “one of my boys”. I could never stop loving you. I’m so, so proud of you & your accomplishments. I will always be there for you, no matter what. Family sticks together. You will always in prayers for a good and safe life. Always remember, I love you and I will always be there for you. Aunt Cheryl

  2. Mama Tams

    Dear Son,

    One particular day when you were a little boy, there was a situation where I stood holding your baby brother, alone, and feeling it. You came from where you were and stood proudly beside us, holding onto my leg, supporting US. In that profound moment I knew as surely as I knew the sun would go down that evening, that you were, and would grow up to be a Man of great strength and integrity. I knew that you would always stand up for what you believe and for those whom you love.

    I now stand up for you, Jake Newsome. Thank you for being who you are and having such courage to speak out with such heartfelt frankness that defies any AND ALL talk of defects. No, Son, there are no stones to be cast…. only love to scatter.

    I love YOU.
    As big as the mountains with snow on top.

    Mama

    P.S. You make me smile! :)

  3. Saw the same sign on my way (and way back) from vacation this last week. Noticed there’s an open billboard under the northbound one. Thinking about seeing how much it costs to get a billboard and then figuring out something good to reply with.

    Tired of the hate!

  4. Karen Moseley

    Jake, you are a wonderful, intellegent man. You are a blessing as a son to your Mother, grandson to your grandparents, brother to Luke and a member of this family. I am proud of you. I know we have only just become reaccquainted but I have been so inpressed by you. You are loved. Ignor the idiots and live your life. Be happy.
    Love, Aunt Karen.

  5. I saw the same sign last Saturday on my way to Florida and my way home today. I did catch the name of the church “Bluegrass Church of Christ” but wasn’t able to get the phone number. I did a quick google search of the sign and found this blog. Reading this had done a lot of good for me and you my friend have gotten the last word in my mind. Thanks so much!

  6. Brooks

    Dear Jake,
    Your words are as beautiful as I think you heart must be. I am not gay, but my best friend and room mate is. He has suffered terrible injustices and still puts on a smile and loves life and all who are in it – good and bad, accepting or not. He has taught me so many loving lessons in life and I would be so lost without him. I am Pagan, open and proud. My motto and bible are all of 2 words “Harm NONE”. As simple the statement, the concept is all encompassing. I have no right to do anything in this world that would hurt another living thing. Talk about thinking before you act! May your life be filled with many joys!
    Blessed Be!

  7. I really liked this entry.

  8. Matt McCraney

    Im a long haul trucker and drive I-75 daily, I agree someone should lease the available sign just under the Church’s sign and make a bold statement about the HATE these SO-CALLED Christians are spouting. BTW I didn’t get the entire number today however the area code is 502. I will take a photo next time in by there and try to post it. Maybe we need to call these folks in and see if we might use their facility for a wedding or something.

    • I’m all for that Matt! Yeah, if you get the whole phone number let me know. I wont be back in that area of the world until Christmas, but I’d sure like to give them a call…

    • Thanks for sharing Ryan – I wish they would have done a little more on it. Someone needs to investigate who that church really is. And then I think we need to all get together, rent the sign underneath it and then put something really clever on it.

  9. Rock

    Saw the sign yesterday and pretty much thought the exact same stuff. THANKS

  10. I came home for Christmas and saw the sign again the other day. I REALLY want to rent the sign underneath it and put up a reminder that God said not to judge…

  11. Lindsey Gay ( swear its my real last name)

    Im obsessed… I was driving down the interstate minding my own business and I was so freaking shocked at the billboard that I googled the church and this is the first thing that came up :) as a missionary and a sometimes church goer I’m loving what you wrote. You’re a ballerrrrrrr. I would definitely support the purchasing of the sign underneath it…. Sorry for their ignorance. Should have used the money they spent on that sign to feed orphans or help widows…. Seems more like something my God would say to do.

  12. Jack from Ontario

    This month my wife and I were driving to Florida for a two-week vacation and saw the same sign. We were appalled that such hate literature could be posted. Such ignorance diminsihes all Americans and reflects an understanding that is today universally rejected by the scientific and medical community. I believe that anyone posting such a sign on Ontario would be charged with promoting a hate crime. Shame on the church community that posted it!

  13. Calvin

    To all that posted: We as mankind hate truth when it is pointed out, I myself do not agree why the sign. But you all claim to know God. Understand the different in old testament and new testament. You will be judge, by the new testament, but the old testament is there for our learning how God dealt with man on the fiscal level. Sin is sin regardless, but Homosexuality is Abomination also other things.God put man on the earth for himself, but He notice man was lonely so he gave him helpmate where he name her (woman) not man.So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. Then God blessed them, and God said to them, ‘Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.'” (Genesis 1:27, 28) two mens can not multiply.` Going against whats natural is going against God For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature. Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful, and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due.” (Romans 1:26, 27). It not just in the old testament but New as well.Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor sodomites, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners will inherit the kingdom of God.” (1 Corinthians 6:9-10). So allow me to say I don’t agree with them putting up the sign, but God word is what it is. Homosexuality is a lifestyle. It is a choice made by those who desire the unnatural. Can a homosexual person repent and be forgiven by God? The answer is yes.”And such were some of you. But you were washed, but you were sanctified, but you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus and by the Spirit of our God.” (1 Corinthians 6:11)
    God remains consistent in His condemnation of homosexuality as He does for all other sins. Homosexuality is indeed an unacceptable lifestyle before our Lord God Almighty. By the written Word of the Most High God we cannot condone or embrace homosexuality in the world within the church.

    • Dear Calvin, I’m so glad you posted on my blog and completely proved my point. Pick and choose, my friend, and see if that gets you into heaven. I just hope you’ve picked and chosen the right verses to follow!

Let me know what you think!

Blog at WordPress.com.

